The OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour Has a History of Unforgettable Games

The OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour has been awarded to 15 Minor Midget “AAA” teams since the 2002-03 season, and since then there’s been no shortage of future star power in those 15 championship finals. Overtime goals, game-saving stops, and breakout performances have highlighted some memorable matchups. Here are a few worth revisiting.

2015-16 York Simcoe Express 2 vs. Toronto Marlboros 1 2OT
A matchup so even it took almost five periods to resolve. The 2015-16 victory by the York-Simcoe Express saw the Club hoist their first OHL Cup since 2004. The Express saw nine of their players selected in the 2016 OHL Priority Selection, including Rhys Forhan (North Bay) who scored the game-winning overtime goal. The Marlboros had three players from their roster picked in the first round, including tournament scoring leader Akil Thomas (Niagara).

2014-15 Toronto Marlboros 3 vs. Don Mills Flyers 2 OT
There’s not much you haven’t seen after playing almost 800 games in the NHL, but the 2014-15 OHL Cup final had Wendel Clark on the edge of his seat. The season-long GTHL rivalry came to a head at the championship final, with Hamilton Bulldogs first round pick Matthew Strome scoring the overtime winner for the Toronto Marlboros. Don Mills Flyers goaltender Jake McGrath earned MVP honours after a 22 save performance. The game also featured Don Mills Flyers forward David Levin (Sudbury Wolves) who would go on to be the first overall pick at the 2015 OHL Priority Selection.

2011-12:  Mississauga Rebels 2 vs. Toronto Marlboros 1 OT
With the likes of Connor McDavid, Josh Ho-Sang, and Sam Bennett in their line up, the Toronto Marlboros seemed like shoe-ins to take the tournament title. A tight game would end in an overtime victory for Robby Fabbri’s Mississauga Rebels squad. McDavid received tournament MVP honours after tallying 19 points in seven games.

Don Cherry and David Branch presenting the OHL Cup to Mississauga Rebels captain Robby Fabbri.

2010-11:  Toronto Marlboros 5 vs. Don Mills Flyers 3
The 2010-11 matchup between the Toronto Marlboros and Don Mills Flyers was a sneak peek at what the NHL would look like come 2018. Both teams had over 10 players each selected at OHL Priority Selection, including Darnell Nurse, Max Domi, and Nick Richie. All three currently play in the NHL.

2009-10:  Mississauga Rebels 2 vs. Toronto Marlboros 1
The 2009-10 championship final marked the first time a wild card team raised the OHL Cup. Mississauga Rebels forward Sean Monahan led the tournament in points, earning himself MVP honours and propelling his team to OHL Cup victory. Four members of the Marlboros team were taken in the first round of the OHL Priority Selection, while current Toronto Maple Leafs forward Connor Brown was selected in the 13th round by the Erie Otters.

The 2018 OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour runs March 14-19. Click here for a full tournament schedule.

More News
#IPlayInTheG: Holiday Spirit
1 day ago
Recap: 2019 GTHL Top Prospects Game, Powered by Under Armour
4 days ago
GALLERY: 2019 GTHL Top Prospects Game, Powered by Under Armour
4 days ago
Preview: GTHL Top Prospects Game, Powered by Under Armour
5 days ago
Eleven Games Strong
1 week ago
GTHL and TRUE Launch TRUE Tips of the Month Contesting
1 week ago