Aaron Bell/OHL Images
81 GTHL Players Selected at 2019 OHL Priority Selection

A total of 81 GTHL Minor Midget players were selected by 20 different OHL teams at the 2019 OHL Priority Selection. Eight GTHL players were selected in the first round, with five chosen in the top-10.

Coming off an OHL Cup and Scotiabank GTHL Playoff Championship, the Don Mills Flyers led the pack with 14 players selected, three of which were drafted in the top four. Flyers standout Shane Wright was selected first overall by the Kingston Frontenacs after being granted exceptional status back in March. Wright, a 2004-born player, joins the likes of Connor McDavid and John Tavares in entering the OHL a year early.

Eleven of the twelve “AAA” Clubs in the GTHL had at east one player selected. The 2019 U18 Priority Selection will take place on April 10.

The OHL paid tribute to late Don Mills Flyers goaltender Roy Pejcinovski by selecting him 74th overall – the same number Roy wore on his jersey.

Click here to see full results from the 2019 OHL Priority Selection.

Social Media Reaction

More News
GTHL Awards 2020: Roy Pejcinovski Memorial Goaltending Character Award
15 hours ago
Nutrition Tuesday: Power Pucks
3 days ago
GTHL Awards 2020: Herb Ebisuzaki Coaching Award
4 days ago
Updates on the GTHL Return to Play Plan
7 days ago
From the Video Room: Return to Hockey Updates
2 weeks ago
The Only Champs
2 weeks ago