Stay Penalty Free to Win!

The Hockey Development Centre for Ontario, in partnership with its member associations and program sponsors, is pleased to announce the official launch of the 2017 Penalty Free Sweepstakes contest.

The Penalty Free Sweepstakes encourages and rewards amateur hockey teams for staying out of the penalty box and has produced a positive response from all ages and levels of amateur hockey in Ontario. Statistics indicate that teams who have entered the contest have either won or tied their games, demonstrating that fair play and good sportsmanship is not only rewarding but can substantially increase the chance of being successful on the ice – it’s a win-win all around.

To further promote the Sweepstakes, the 2017 Penalty Free Most Valuable Player Award will be held in conjunction with the Sweepstakes prize draw. The MVP Award will recognize ten individual players who embody the values of the Penalty Free Sweepstakes – skills, safety and sportsmanship.

penaltyfreeHow does a team qualify?
Any amateur hockey team in Ontario can qualify by playing a penalty-free game within the province of Ontario during the contest period (December 1, 2016 to January 31, 2017). If one team plays an entire penalty free game, that team qualifies. If both teams play penalty free then both teams qualify. All games must be refereed by qualified officials and the game sheet must be signed by at least one of the officials. All entries are subject to verification by the Penalty Free Sweepstakes Committee. A team may submit an entry for every penalty free game they play during the contest period. All league, exhibition, tournament and playoff games played penalty free during the contest period may qualify. Inter-squad and novelty games do not qualify. OFFICIAL ENTRY FORM for the 2017 Penalty Free Sweepstakes is available at

How are the winning teams chosen?
Sweepstakes winners will be drawn at random from the eligible entries received. The draw will be conducted on Monday February 6, 2017 at the Hockey Development Centre for Ontario (HDCO) office. Winning teams will be notified by phone within fourteen days of the draw.

How does a team enter?
To enter, simply complete an Official Entry form and send it, along with a copy of the game sheet signed by a qualified official, to the HDCO office. Entry forms can be downloaded here, from the HDCO Web site at, or by contacting the HDCO office. Eligible entries must be received by 4:00 pm Friday February 3, 2017 to be eligible for the prize draw. Entry forms can be submitted by mail, fax or email.

What is the Penalty Free” Most Valuable Player” Award?
As an added incentive and to further promote the Sweepstakes, the 2016 Penalty Free MVP Award will be held in conjunction with the Sweepstakes program. Coaches will have the opportunity to nominate one player from their team who embody the values of the Penalty Free Sweepstakes.
Ten winners will be randomly drawn on February 6, 2017. Each winner will receive a McDonald’s® Mac-a-Month Card, a family pass to the Hockey Hall of Fame and a special trophy.

Coaches can nominate one player from their team by filling out the MVP Award nomination form and submitting it to the HDCO office. Ballots can be downloaded from the HDCO website. Nomination forms must be received by 4:00 pm Friday, February 3, 2017 (only one nomination per team).

More News
Around the G: Oct. 12-14
18 hours ago
Ahead Of The Game is Back!
4 days ago
Around the G: Oct. 5-8
7 days ago
47 GTHL Grads Start Their Season With NHL Clubs
1 week ago
GTHL Members Save 25-50% Tickets
1 week ago
Pro Hockey Life and Greater Toronto Hockey League Announce Partnership
2 weeks ago